2020 Poker Hall of Fame Finalists Announced 19 Dec

After two weeks of open nominations, Governing Council of Poker Hall of Fame has announced 10 finalists for 2020 Poker Hall of Fame.

  • Patrik Antonius
  • Lon McEachern and Norman Chad
  • Eli Elezra
  • Antonio Esfandiari
  • Chris Ferguson
  • Ted Forrest
  • Mike Matusow
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg
  • Huckleberry Seed

Three new names on the list with Lon McEachern and Norman Chad being the first ever duo nominated for the award. Alongside them Patrik Antonius and Isai Scheinberg being the rookies as well.

It is definitely a colorful bunch of nominees and it’s hard to pick a winner, but if we had to guess we think that long-time tournament director Matt Savage is a front runner for the prestigious award.

Matt Savage

There is another name that stands out, but for a different reason and one that poker fans would hate to see him win. It is of course Chris "Jesus" Ferguson and his involvement in Full Tilt and poker’s Black Friday on April 15, 2011.

How does voting work?

The voting panel has been changed for this year’s Poker Hall of Fame induction. Instead of having votes from living members of Hall of Fame, media and other people involved in poker, only the 31 living members are eligible to vote.

They will cast 10 votes each and only the top finalist will be inducted into Poker Hall of Fame instead of two like in previous 15 years.

Currently there are 58 members since PHoF was established in 1979. Last year Chris Moneymaker and David Oppenheim received the lifetime achievement honor.

David Oppenheim and Chris Moneymaker

The enshrinement ceremony will be held in concert with the final table of the Main Event of the WSOP.