2023 WSOP Day 24: Brian Rast Wins $50,000 Poker Players Championship for the Third Time 23 Jun

One of the most highly anticipated events at the World Series of Poker, the $50,000 Poker Players Championship, often plays second in significance and prestige only to the $10,000 WSOP Main Event spectacle.

Again, it did not disappoint, and at the center of it, all was the triumphant Brian Rast, who clinched the PPC title for the historic third time in his career. The American pro had an impressive Day 5 in which he eliminated all his five opponents on the road to his sixth WSOP bracelet and a payday of $1,324,747.

Talal Shakerchi started the final day as a chip leader, however, after a promising start, he began to lose some steam and was close to finishing 5th before a much-needed rebuild positioned him in the heads-up against Rast. British businessman started the final battle with a 5:1 deficit, which he could not overcome, and it lasted only five hands, earning him a consolation prize of $818,756.

Rast’s victory did more than earn him the largest portion of the $4,727,250 prize pool, as this win cemented his status as one of the best mixed games players in the world, and now, he made a really strong bid for induction into the 2023 Poker Hall of Fame. After a two-week nomination period, he is once again one of the ten finalists along with Josh Arieh, Jeremy Ausmus, Ted Forrest, Kathy Liebert, Mike Matusow, Lon McEachern and Norman Chad, Matt Savage, Isai Scheinberg, and Bill Smith.

2023 Poker Hall of Fame finalists

While the Poker Hall of Fame’s inductee decision ultimately rests in the hands of its living members, a strong consensus has emerged within the poker community, advocating for Rast’s inclusion this year. Many fellow poker pros have publicly supported him, including Daniel Negreanu, Phil Galfond, Jonathan Little, Randy “nanonoko” Lew, Bryn Kenney, and even one of the finalists, Jeremy Ausmus himself.

Despite numerous endorsements and his undeniable prowess, the decision to induct Rast into the Poker Hall of Fame remains uncertain due to the voting process. Isai Scheinberg, the pioneer who has dramatically transformed the landscape of online poker, could potentially present the biggest obstacle to Rast's induction.

Event #43: $50,000 Poker Players Championship Final Table Results

Place Winner Country Prize
1 Brian Rast United States $1,324,747
2 Talal Shakerchi United Kingdom $818,756
3 Matthew Ashton United Kingdom $573,679
4 James Obst Australia $411,824
5 Kristopher Tong United States $303,071
6 Phil Ivey United States $228,793
7 Ray Dehkharghani United States $177,294

Images courtesy of WSOP/PokerNews.