Jon Kyte 5th in FPS High Roller for €80,500, Mohamed Mokrani Champion 21 Feb

The inaugural European Poker Tour Paris is underway in Hyatt Regency Paris Etoile for a first EPT stop of 2023. One of the most anticipated €2,200 FPS High Roller tournament has finished well past over midnight today after a 15-hour marathon session.

At the end Mohamed Mokrani was crowned champion after beating Antony Marchetti in 10 hands of heads-up only, pocketing €305,300 for the win.

Out of 910 players who joined the High Roller event of French Poker Series was also representative Jon Kyte, who recorded a great result with another final table appearance. It was a quite short final table with an average of only 20 big blinds and Kyte was sitting in 6th with 21bbs at the start, so anything was possible.

At the end he was knocked out in 5th place after flopping a top pair A with AJs on A87 board, while Marchetti was holding pocket jacks. Frenchman hit a miracle one outer on the turn, river was blank and Jon hit the rail €80,500 richer.

Truly awesome start of the EPT Paris for the Norwegian, but it seems his mind is already in €5,300 EPT Main Event. Jon is now on a similar path this year than he was in 2022 when he first finished in 4th place at EPT Prague Eureka Main Event for €131,900 and then went on to winning his first-ever EPT trophy in H.O.R.S.E. event, winning PLO event in Norwegian Championship and 4th place in UKIPT London Main Event.

In the money was also popular Twitch and YouTube streamer Lex Veldhuis, who finished the tournament in 45th place for his first live tournament cash since 2018 Dutch Poker Open.

Lex returned to live poker scene after playing online only for the majority of the last decade and after getting much better at tournament poker. He started vlogging his experience at this year PCA in Bahamas and now continues with EPT Paris.

2023 EPT Paris €2,200 FPS High Roller Final Table Results

Place Player Country Prize
1 Mohamed Mokrani France €305,300
2 Antony Marchetti France €190,450
3 Wagner Ripper Brazil €136,050
4 Simeon Spasov Bulgaria €104,650
5 Jon Kyte Norway €80,500
6 Cedric Massaro France €61,900
7 Francesco Delfoco Italy €47,650
8 Luis Celso Brazil €36,650
9 Hugo Machado Portugal €28,200