Josh Arieh Wins The WSOP Player of the Year 25 Nov

Josh Arieh wasn't among the pre-series favorites for 2021 World Series of Poker Player of the Year. In the end, however, he came out on top, and he certainly deserved the title.
This was a year in which eight players won two bracelets at the series (Arieh being one of them). It was also a year where Phil Hellmuth broke the record for most final tables. Phil made seven final tables this year, all in different disciplines, to come 2nd in the POY race for the fourth time.
To defeat that field of worthy opponents Arieh managed 12 cashes, including five final tables and most notably two bracelets. He won the $10,000 PLO8 Championship for $484,791 and the $1,500 PLO bracelet for $204,766. In total he cashed for $1,102,367.

Arieh wins an additional $15,000 for his Player of the Year victory.

Elsewhere at the WSOP the final events are nearing the end. 30 remain in the final $5,000 event and Michael Addamo leads the final five in the $100,000 Super High Roller. They are literally closing the Rio around the players and packing away the tables as the final few tables are being played, as it is the last time the WSOP is at that venue.

WSOP 2021 Player of the Year Top 5
Rank Player Points
1st Josh Arieh 4,194.59
2nd Phil Hellmuth 3,664.09
3rd Daniel Negreanu 3,531.03
4th Jeremy Ausmus 3,272.57
5th Ryan Leng 3,042.21