Phil Ivey Wins Super High Roller Series Europe Player of the Series Title 20 Apr

The Merit Crystal Cove Hotel-Casino in North Cyprus has been the center of the high-stakes tournament poker world for the past two weeks. Merit Poker has hosted tons of high roller action, with both the Triton Poker Cyprus and the Super High Roller Series Europe counting towards the same series leaderboard. All told, there were 16 events included in the points race. Living poker legend Phil Ivey made the final table in five of those events, winning two titles and securing $2,880,100 along the way.
The 45-year-old American poker pro accrued a total of 1,725 rankings points, 570 more than any other player at the series. As a result, he was crowned the Super High Roller Series Europe overall champion and awarded a trophy and $25,000 in additional prize money.
The Poker Hall of Fame member and 10-time World Series of Poker bracelet was particularly dominant during the Triton Poker Cyprus segment of the festival. He cashed in three of the five events offered, starting with a fourth-place showing in the $50,000 no-limit hold’em six-max event for $387,100. The very next day he placed fifth in a $50,000 turbo no-limit hold’em event for another $179,000. Ivey scored his first victory of the year by emerging victorious in the $75,000 buy-in short deck event. He topped a field of 51 entries in that tournament to take home $1,170,000.

Ivey added two more big scores during the 11-event SRHS Europe. He started off with a runner-up showing in the $50,000 short deck event for $504,000. Just two days later he came out on top in the $50,000 pot-limit Omaha event, earning $640,000 after defeating a field of 32 entries.
“It’s still nice,” Ivey said after that title run. “It’s always nice to win a tournament.”

Final Top Ten in SHRB Europe Points Race:

Rank Player Points Titles Cashes Earnings
1 Phil Ivey 1725 2 5 $2,880,100
2 Daniel Dvoress 1155 1 6 $2,188,000
3 Jason Koon 1139 0 7 $1,896,500
4 Elton Tsang 1063 1 5 $1,867,100
5 Danny Tang 969 1 4 $1,616,000
6 Lee Wai Kiat 875 1 3 $1,458,000
7 Jake Schindler 871 1 2 $4,103,000
8 Andras Nemeth 738 1 2 $1,146,000
9 Winfred Yu 700 1 1 $1,010,000
10 Tom Vogelsang 668 1 3 $1,836,000