Sean Winter Wins The Last Two Events Of U.S. Poker Open And Is Crowned The Overall Champion 29 Mar

Before the last two events of the 2022 U.S. Poker Open, it didn't look like Sean Winter was a serious contender to win the series championship, but he did it. After failing to cash in the first 10 events of the series, Winter stormed to the top of the leaderboard by winning the final two events.
After he won Event #11: $25,000 No-Limit Hold’em for $440,000, Winter reached the final table of Event #12: $50,000 No-Limit Hold’em. Winter needed a victory to take off the Golden Eagle Trophy from Tamon Nakamura’s hands, and he pulled it off, defeating Nakamura’s good friend, Masashi Oya, in heads-up play to win the finale for $756,000 and become 2022 U.S. Poker Open champion.

Winter had previously finished runner-up in the U.S. Poker Open in each of the last two editions the series was held. Both times, David Peters won the series championship and Winter finished second. Not only did Winter take home the 60-pound Golden Eagle Trophy, but he was awarded the series’ $50,000 Championship Bonus. All told, Winter won $1,246,000 at the 2022 U.S. Poker Open.

Entering the final day of play, Nakamura had the points lead and was hoping to hold on to the top spot. Nakamura needed to fade Winter and Shannon Shorr, who could both overtake him if things broke right. Shorr went out in fifth place, leaving just Winter left to win it all. To do so, Winter needed first place and only first place. Winter pulled it off and became the 2022 U.S. Poker Open champion.

“Everyone was having a phenomenal series,” Winter said. “Hats off to Tamon Nakamura. At the start of yesterday’s tournament, I had to be one percent to win, less? I don’t know. I wasn’t even thinking about having a shot at all.”
What’s more, Winter has now gone back to back in the final event of the U.S. Poker Open. In the 2021 series, he topped the field of 42 entries to win $756,000.


Place Player Country Prize
1 Sean Winter United States $756,000
2 Masashi Oya Japan $504,000
3 Zhuang Ruan United States $336,000
4 Vikenty Shegal United States $231,000
5 Shannon Shorr United States $168,000
6 Dan Smith United States $105,000


Rank Player Country Points
1 Sean Winter United States 718
2 Tamon Nakamura Japan 588
3 Alex Foxen United States 488
4 Chino Rheem United States 481
5 Phil Hellmuth United States 464
6 Shannon Shorr United States 441
7 Erik Seidel United States 428
8 Dylan Weisman United States 414
9 Masashi Oya Japan 414
10 Adam Hendrix United States 356