WSOP Announced 2022 Poker Hall of Fame Finalists 30 Jun

World Series of Poker announced 10 finalists for the 2022 class of Poker Hall of Fame following a two-week nomination period. One new member will be inducted by the 32 living members, who will allocate a ballot of ten points.

The finalist are as follows:

  • Josh Arieh
  • Layne Flack
  • Bertrand “ElkY” Grospellier
  • Kathy Liebert
  • Mike Matusow
  • Lon McEachern & Norman Chad
  • Michael Mizrachi
  • Brian Rast
  • Matt Savage
  • Isai Scheinberg

Three new finalists

There are three new poker players on this year’s list: Josh Arieh, Kathy Liebert and Brian Rast.

Brian Rast turned 40 this year so he became eligible for the nomination and was already voted into the list in his first year by the fans. Rast is a five-time WSOP bracelet winner with almost $23 million of total live earnings.

Kathy Liebert won her only bracelet in 2004 in $1,500 Limit Hold’em Shootout. Her last final table appearance at the WSOP came this year in $1,000 Seniors event where she finished 5th for $186,541. She has total of $6,667,188 lifetime tournament earnings.

Josh Arieh was a player of the year at last year’s World Series of Poker, cashing in 11 events and earning two gold bracelets in $1,500 PLO and $10,000 PLO8 Championship. His career earning are at $10.5 millions and four WSOP bracelets.

Eli Elezra inducted in 2021

Somewhat controversial inductee last year was Eli Elezra. Former businessman turned poker pro was one of the biggest names of the poker boom, playing in some of the biggest cash games in the world. He also saw success at the tournament tables with $4.6 million in earnings and 4 gold bracelets.

2022 Induction Ceremony

2022 induction ceremony will be held on Sunday, July 10 at Bally’s & Paris Las Vegas, alongside with the final table of the Main Event where one new member will be elected. Main criteria for the Poker Hall of Fame are as follows:

  • A player must have played poker against acknowledged top competition
  • Be a minimum of 40 years old at time of nomination
  • Played for high stakes
  • Played consistently well, gaining the respect of peers
  • Stood the test of time
  • Or, for non-players, contributed to the overall growth and success of the game of poker, with indelible positive and lasting results.