Legendary Irish Poker Open Expecting Record Numbers 24 Mar

The legendary Irish Poker Open, the longest-running poker tournament in Europe, going back more than 42 years, is returning in 2023 with another exciting series that runs from April 3 to 10 and takes place at the Royal Dublin Society (RDS) in Dublin, Ireland.

The festival will boast 40 events, including the highlight of the series, the €1,150 Irish Open Main Event, with a whooping €1,000,000 guaranteed prize pool. The 4-day event will feature four first-day flights, starting on Wednesday, April 5, and the Final Day on Monday, April 8, when a new champion will be crowned.

Key dates for the Irish Open:

  • Irish Open €1,150 Main Event: April 05-10
  • Irish Open €1,100 Mystery Bounty: April 9-10
  • Irish Open €5,000 High Roller: April 04-05
  • Irish Open €2,000 High Roller: April 08-09

Check out the full schedule here: https://irishpokeropen.com/schedule/

Organizers expect record-breaking numbers as nearly 400 poker players have already won their €1,150 Main Event seat on PokerStars and an additional 150 on Paddy Power Poker. And even though there’s only a week left until the festival starts, there are still numerous ways to qualify. Just PokerStars alone guarantees 36 more seats in the week to come.

Many notable players have either grabbed their package online or confirmed their presence, including PokerStars ambassadors Fintan "EasyWithAces" Hand, Ben "Spraggy" Spragg, Parker "Tonkaaaa" Talbot, PokerPro.cc representative Josh Stewart, 2013 Irish Open champion Ian Simpson, Will Kassouf, Dara O’Kearney, David Lappin, and many more.

Steve O’Dwyer to defend the title in 2023

Last year 2,040 strong field players took part from nearly 60 countries all over the world. Still, the title “stayed home” as Steve O’Dwyer, who has lived in Dublin for over ten years now, smashed through the final table, eliminating every single one of his opponents and pocketed €318,700 for the win.

Even though O’Dwyer is one of the best tournament players in the world, with more than $35 million in tournament career winnings, he has never beaten such a big crowd before. His second biggest win was in a 513-player field at EPT Monte Carlo in 2013.

Last year’s win in a city where he has made his home meant a lot to him. Even though he is an American, born in Colorado, he respects his Irish part of the family as both his grandparents were born in Ireland, and he has an Irish passport himself. So, you can bet he will be back this year to defend the title!

New venue for Irish Open

This year the Irish Open has a new home at the RDS, located in the heart of Dublin City and within walking distance of hotels, restaurants, and bars. You can still expect the same great tournaments and world-renowned “craic.” 

At festivals like this, it’s not just about poker, but activities away from the tables are an important part of the Dublin experience as well. Irish Open always provides one of the best atmospheres with a loud rail and a good fun, as the partying keeps going late at the Irish Open.

Irish Open 2023 Livestreams

If you can’t make it to Dublin this year, you can follow all the action from the comfort of your home as Irish Open 2023 will be livestreamed on PokerStars’ YouTube and Twitch channels and the Irish Poker Open YouTube channel.

Livestreams will cover the Main Event from Day 1C and all the way to the Final Table on April 10. For the first time ever, James Hartigan, who won the Best Broadcaster of the year award, and Joe Stepleton will host the streams alongside 2017 Irish Open champion Griffin Benger and Team PokerStars Pro member Nick Walsh.

Irish Open Main Event List of winners

Year Winner First Prize Prizepool Entrants
2022 Steve O'Dwyer €318,700 €1,989,000 2,040
2020 Pablo Silva €462,100 €2,945,000 2,945
2019 Weijie Zheng €300,000 €1,805,870 1,807
2018 Ryan Mandara €250,000 €1,347,164 1,340
2017 Griffin Benger €200,000 €1,128,295 1,120
2016 Dan Wilson €150,000 €801,500 802
2015 Ioannis Triantafyllakis €200,000 €1,027,000 321
2014 Patrick Clarke €200,000 €822,000 411
2013 Ian Simpson €265,000 €1,010,000 505
2012 Kevin Vandersmissen €420,000 €1,606,400 502
2011 Niall Smyth €550,000 €1,968,000 615
2010 James Mitchell €600,000 €2,265,200 708
2009 Christer Johansson €600,000 €2,240,000 700
2008 Neil Channing €801,000 €3,000,000 667
2007 Marty Smyth €650,000 €2,336,500 708
2006 Vincent Melinn €350,000 €1,068,000  
2005 John Falconer €146,000 €368,000  
2004 Ivan Donaghy €65,800 €170,500 107
2003 Joe Beevers €50,375 €126,000 104
2002 Nick Beirne €19,800 €46,192  
2001 Jenny Hegarty £28,045 £68,400 92
2000 Alan Betson £22,140 £20,250 79
1999 Liam Barker £19,065 £46,500 76